Fitting roof bars

All Hyundai Tucson related discussions
Mr.C

Post by Mr.C »

I have searched the forum but couldn't find any info on the fitment of roof bars to the roof rails of a 2019 Tucson.
Just purchased a Tucson 2.0 CRdi 48v MHD premium SE 5dr 4WD DCT.
Noticed some blanking covers on the factory fitted roof rails. I presume this is where to fit roof bars?
My apologies if this is a stupid question. I'm a newbie on here. Have not got my car yet. I'm collecting it later this week.
I might need to fit a roof box but wanted to make sure I got the right roof bars to fit. Noticed some people had damaged the glass sunroof and didn't want to make the same mistake, or damage my paintwork.

old man

Post by old man »

The comments you've seen on this forum regarding roof bar fittings damaging the sunroof are directed at the latest model Tucson. I have no idea if the same applies to your model.
However, even with the current model, there are makes of bars available that will not foul the sunroof.
The blanking plates you see on your roof rails are not for fitting roof bars as far as I'm aware. When purchasing roof bars you will also need to purchase a foot pack that is designed specifically for your exact vehicle and those feet clamp onto the flush roof rails.
I would recommend Thule bars and fixings as long as they don't foul the sunroof once fitted. Unfortunately, Thule and Hyundais own brand of bars ironically are the ones that will foul the sunroof on the latest Tucson, so you'll need to check regarding this for your vehicle.
Have a look at the Roofbox Company, they do a good range and are very helpful if you need to talk to them. Here's a link with your vehicle details entered, which shows bars suitable for your car and you'll see tha some have provisos about certain makes. Phone the company if in any doubt.
https://www.roofbox.co.uk/scripts/rbveh ... query=8316